Subcommittee on Gender, Economy, and Power 

The Council for Gender Equality’s Subcommittee on Gender, Economy, and Power discusses various equality issues such as equality in working life and education, gendered violence and economic equality. The subcommittee also plays an important role in strengthening the role of Gender Studies and promoting the recognition of research data.

The subcommittee is a continuation of the Subcommittee on Research which operated within the council in 1981-2006 and the Subcommittee on Gender and Power which operated in 2006-2015. The first Subcommittee on Gender, Economy, and Power was appointed for the Tane 2015-2019 term.

History of the subcommittee

Third Subcommittee on Gender, Economy, and Power (2023-2027)

More information will be updated soon.


  • Ordförande: Fatim Diarra (Green League)
  • Vice ordförande: Päivi Mononen-Mikkilä (Centre Party)
  • Lauri Muranen (Social Democratic Party)
  • Konsta Nupponen (National Coalition Party)
  • Minna Partanen (Finns Party)
  • Milla Pyykkönen (Left Alliance)

Updated on 12 December 2023

Permanent advisors

Will be updated shortly


Will be updated shortly

Intersectional differences, multiple discrimination and gender diversity are taken into account in all activities of the Subcommittee on Gender, Economy, and Power. 

The thematic priorities of the subcommittee during the current term are:

  • Gender impacts of the corona crisis, such as:
    • impacts of the crisis on public finances (incl. local government finances and municipal elections in 2021)
    • impacts of the crisis on working life
    • impacts of the crisis on gender-based violence
    • impacts of the crisis on gender equality policy and gender equality policy reforms (incl. the Government Programme)
    • impacts of the crisis on unpaid care
    • impacts of the crisis on the status of immigrant women
  • Economy and working life
    • Gendered impacts of the platform economy
    • Impacts of digitalisation on inequality in society and equality in working life
    • Interruptions in working life (incl. family leaves and military service)
    • Social appreciation and salaries in the professional care sector and the female dominant public sector 
    • The wellbeing economy and equality
    • Public finance resources and gender impacts
  • Education and research
    • Monitoring the working group on continuous learning
    • Promoting the use of research data related to equality
  • Gender-based violence

The subcommittee monitors the preparation of key reforms from the gender perspective and, if necessary, submits proposals to the council for events and working groups related to current social reforms. 

History of the subcommittee

The Council for Gender Equality is tasked with promoting equality research. Tane had an important role in ensuring that Women’s Studies (now Gender Studies) became an established field of research in Finland. From the beginning of the 1980s, Tane has supported Women’s Studies/Gender Studies both economically and through various initiatives and opinions. Another important part of the research field’s institutionalisation was the coordinator of Women’s Studies, who worked at Tane from the beginning of the 1980s to the beginning of the 2000s. 

The Subcommittee on Research was established in 1981 as an advisory body to the Council for Gender Equality in issues related to Women’s Studies and equality research as well as scientific policy. The Subcommittee on Research was tasked with monitoring the development of women’s studies, developing cooperation between the administrative branch and the field’s research, as well as with submitting initiative to the council on matters that were related to women’s studies and improving the status of women researchers. The subcommittee also formed a background group for the coordination of Women’s Studies.

The subcommittees focusing on gender, equality and power have worked as heirs to the Subcommittee on Research which operated until 2006. From 2007 onward, the themes discussed by the subcommittees have included gender-conscious budgeting, gender-conscious education and training, and the gendered impacts of the economic crisis. 

The history of the subcommittee has been compiled in a publication written in Finnish:
Feministinen aikamatka (PDF), TANE-julkaisuja 9/2006

Chairs of the Subcommittee

Subcommittee on Research

  • Aila Jokinen 1981, 1981–1985
  • Marianne Laxén 1987–1989
  • Sole Molander 1989–1992
  • Pirkko Grönlund 1992–1995
  • Katariina Poskiparta 1996–1998, 1999–2001
  • Lena Paju 2001–2003
  • Sole Molander 2003–2007 (Subcommittee on Research and Development)

Subcommittee on Gender and Power

  • Seija Turtiainen 2007–2011
  • Tarja Filatov 2011–2015

Subcommittee on Gender, Economy, and Power

  • Tarja Filatov 2015–2019
  • Silla Kakkola 2019–2023
  • Fatim Diarra 2023–